nateonline

my online thought warehouse

I remember Christopher Vialonga


September 11, 2001 was a day that unified Americans more than any other in recent memory. On that day we collectively felt the anger of being attacked and the pain of great loss. It did not matter if we had never met a person that worked in the Towers or were passengers on the planes. We knew that they were fellow countrymen, Americans, and human beings.

Today, I honor Christopher Vialonga, a man I never met… There are millions of Americans who share my lost opportunity to meet and know him. We will never have the chance to learn about his interests, his hopes and dreams. Chris and 2996 others were stolen from us in a brutal act of evil.

On 9/11 Chris was doing what Americans do… he was at work meeting his responsibilities and doing his job. You see, Chris and the millions of individuals lucky enough to be called American, share a common bond. We reside in a country based not on centuries of history, but on a common idea… that all men are equal and have the right to pursue life, liberty, and happiness. This bond joins us together as a citizen family. When one of us is killed, we feel it, we mourn, we grieve.

Christopher Vialonga resided in Demarest, N.J. He is survived by family and friends that love him. He is remembered by people that he meet along the journey of his life. My impression of Chris from the little info I was able to gather is that he was a good and decent man, a beloved son, and a dear friend.

Chris, I hope you are enjoying eternal peace surrounded by those you love that left before you… I am truly sorry that our paths did not cross during your time here on earth. When I remember the events of 9/11, when I think of those lost, I will see your face and remember your name.

May God bless your family and friends.

2996: We Remember

More memories of Chris

Filed under: 2996

2 Responses

  1. Jedi Master Rob says:

    Well done. Easily one of the better tributes I have read today. I’m sure Mr. Vialonga would be pleased.

    Thanks Nate.

  2. Nate says:

    I hope so Jedi Master, I hope so

Leave a Reply

